Good News Everyone!

This is my first blog post. I’ve set the tone at my level so I expect you all to have read the title in a Professor Farnsworth voice. If you didn’t please pop over to google and type in Futurama, Professor Farnsworth. Don’t come back until you’ve got the voice firmly in your head. Done? Right, let’s carry on as I want to use this first post to give you a little bit of background about my writing and why I started this blog.

I’ve always loved writing. In a world of academics I’ve always been a creator. I am an artistic person at heart, as long as you don’t ask me to create actual art. My skills lie in art that doesn’t require actual artistic skills like drawing or painting. I could draw but you would immediately be unsure as to who to complement on the picture, me or my 6 year old. No my skills are definitely not traditionally artistic, I am a creator. I love to write, I love to make movies and I love to take photos. Some aspects of each process I find harder than others but I am generally at my happiest with a pen in one hand and a camera of some kind in the other.

I have always written random things ever since I was a child and my eldest daughter does it now. I write totally random things, often for no one but myself. Over the years I’ve had stages where I have written a lot and times when I’ve not touched a pen in months. I have written screenplays, short stories, fiction, non-fiction, opinion pieces, ranty letters of anger, game and film reviews, plans, project outlines and even website copy. You name it and I’ve probably written it, at least once. The only thing that springs to mind that I’ve never managed is a novel. It’s just too big a project for me to get my brain around. I have 5 plans for novels that I have diligently written for NaNoWriMo but I’ve never got past about 2 chapters. Most years I don’t even finish the plan.

So here I am. With a blog. This blog will probably end up being a random collection of writing, because that’s how my writing goes. I want to start writing about things that are going on in my life right now but I also want to write about things that matter to me. I will try and organise myself to categorise my posts so that you can fish out things that interest you. So that’s my promise to you. If you are looking for honesty and randomness then you’re in the right place.

I hope you enjoy reading my brain downloads.

 

Leave a Reply

